The Westchester Wedding of Courtney Burke and Matt Maron at Sleepy Hollow Country Club in Scarborough, NY

Courtney Burke and Matt Maron October 9, 2010



A chance meeting with a fellow resident on the doorstep of her Manhattan apartment building led to a proposal on the same doorstep 18 months later. And 13 months after that, Courtney Burke and Matt Maron tied the knot in an interfaith ceremony at the Reformed Church of the Tarrytowns led by Courtney’s family priest and a rabbi. Including aspects of both cultures, they lit a unity candle, signed the ketubah, broke a glass, and had a bagpiper perform. (Courtney, who grew up in Larchmont, is Irish Catholic.)

Choosing the rivertowns as their wedding location was a decision made when Courtney was just 16. “When I first drove through Tarrytown, I knew that someday I wanted to get married in that castle,” she recalls. While they ultimately didn’t hold their wedding at the Castle on the Hudson, it was the site of their rehearsal dinner. The Sleepy Hollow Country Club in nearby Scarborough, once a private mansion owned by the Vanderbilt family, could better accommodate their 141 guests. And, with its high ceilings, Tiffany windows, and views of both the Hudson River and a golf course, the club had just the Gatsby-esqe tone the couple was looking for. “Matt and I wanted our guests to feel like they were attending a very elegant dinner party in our home. We stayed there that weekend and it really did feel like our house. Hey, a girl can dream.”

Just as she'd always known she’d marry in Tarrytown, Courtney also hadknown it would be an autumn wedding: brisk weather, fall foliage, cocktails outside until sunset. In keeping with the fall theme, guests were greeted with hot apple cider, place cards were cut-out leaves, and parting gifts were candied apples. Colors were autumnal as well. “Our floral arrangements were all green, orange, and purple, and our delicious Lulu cake was embellished with the same colors.”

Elegant and timeless was the goal. And, from the stately mansion with its clubby décor and backdrop of the glorious Hudson River to the 1964 Rolls Royce that carried the couple from the church to the reception to the bride’s classic Monique Lhuillier gown and Louboutin shoes, that goal was accomplished.

Resource Guide:

Photography: Ulysses Photography, 24 Lincoln St, Middletown, NY (845) 956-1605; ulyssesphotography.com.
Ceremony: The Reformed Church of the Tarrytowns, 42 N Broadway, Tarrytown (914) 631-4497; rctodc.org.
Reception Venue: Sleepy Hollow Country Club, 777 Albany Post Rd, Scarborough (914) 941-8070; sleepyhollowcc.org.
Bridal Dress: Monique Lhuillier; moniquelhuillier.com.
Bridal Shoes: Christian Louboutin; christianlouboutin.com.
Bridesmaids’ Dresses: Priscilla of Boston from Bella Bridesmaid, 16 Taylor Pl, Westport, CT (203) 227-5762; bellabridesmaid.com.
Bridal Jewelry: David Harvey Jewelers, 995 Post Rd, Darien, CT (203) 838-0627; davidharvey.com. Betteridge Jewelers, 117 Greenwich Ave, Greenwich, CT (203) 869-0124; betteridge.com.
Hair & Makeup: Michiko Boorberg, New York, NY (917) 740-8854; michikoboorberg.com.
Floers: Carol Kelly, (914) 980-4456; flowersbycarolkelly.com.
Stationery: Write On! 1935 Palmer Ave, Larchmont (914) 834-1770; writeonlarchmont.com. Fat Cat Paperie, 426 Main St, Center Moriches, NY (631) 657-5481.
Cake: Lulu Cake Boutique, 40 Garth Rd, Scarsdale (914) 722-8300; everythinglulu.com.
Band: Steve Delisi Band from Hank Lane Music and Production, 65 W 55th St, Suite 302, New York, NY (212) 767-0600; hanklane.com.
Limo: Silver Star Limousine, 47 Ash St, Yonkers (914) 476-3311; silverstarlimo.com.